Wanda Jackson & Imelda May @SummerStage in Central Park

28 07 2011

Wanda Jackson telling Imelda May about Jerry Lee Lewis’s tips for shakin' it onstage

I was really hoping Jack White would be there. I guess that’s just me showing my age at a Wanda Jackson concert. He wasn’t, even though he produced her last album, The Party Ain’t Over. Instead, she was joined on Central Park’s Summer Stage by opener Imelda May.

All the little rockabilly girls and boys came out in their finest vintage gear and it was great people watching (although I’m still too shy and it feels too much like voyager behavior for me to do proper crowd photography).

I’ve never been to a twilight show by one of the old guard before, acts like Chuck Berry or Jerry Lee Lewis, and now I don’t feel so bad about missing them. Wanda’s backing band was great, and for the most part she can still belt out the songs, but I probably spent as much time thinking about grandmas as I did hard core rock and roll. No disrespect intended.

Actions

Information

One response

28 07 2011
Trailer Park Lounge chow time with I Yum New York « The ZsaZsa Balza Column

[…] my recent agenda of coveting Airstreams and going to Wanda Jackson concerts, it was only a matter of time before I ended up in a trailer park. It’s a slightly tricky feat to […]

Leave a Reply

