Occupy Wall Street in the days before the bust

13 11 2011

I love it when the WWII-era generation supports liberal causes

I support the Occupy movement because I support the drive for more ethical and responsible financial organizations. If financial organizations can’t manage themselves well enough to lessen their number of bad choices, I think it’s our government’s role to step in and regulate the situation to protect the majority of citizens.

Plus, I like their punk, damn-the-man attitude.

(And I was hoping for this shit months ago when all I got was yarn bombing.)

Sure the movement’s got its downsides, like ill-informed, stereotypically dirty hippies. But even corporate America’s got some ugly stereotypes that prove true from time to time, like Ken Lay who helped cook the books at Enron (oh, and look, here’s a lovely slideshow illustrating my point).

On a Sunday morning I went down to check out the movement for myself. Occupy Wall Street had been up and running in Zuccotti Park for about two months when I arrived. What I didn’t know was that the following Tuesday, the police would raid the park under the pretence of cleaning it, allowing the protestors back in, but not their tents.

When I was there it was a pretty well organized and low key morning in the park, if you just tuned out the drumming circle. There were tourists taking family photos and information booths handing out flyers including one outlining their plans for a November 17 day of action (or day of ACTION, as the paper proclaimed). It even provided readers with the #N17 hash tag so they could get their TweetDecks loaded and ready to go.

There were also white coat volunteers getting ready to administer flu shoots, because if there’s one thing Americans have learned from history, ain’t nothin’ gonna ruin a good time like an epidemic. Of course, it’s sort of a moot point considering Bloomberg disbanded the happy campers so soon afterwards, but whateves, it was a good idea.

Check out more pictures of Occupy Wall Street on Flickr.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

